Which electric and hybrid car tests can you trust?

Electric and hybrid car tests differ in what they measure, so which ones you can trust depends on the decision. Crash safety, official range labels, owner-reported reliability and independent range checks come from different bodies with different methods. For each, check the procedure, who supplies or buys the cars, and who funds the body.

Inadviser has run no test in this category and names no best product. This page lists existing tests and what each says about itself. Each fact was read on the lab's own page; the link and the date read are beside it. Last page read: .

Existing tests compared

Labs are listed in alphabetical order. The order says nothing about quality. 15 parts below say "Not stated" because the lab's page did not say it. No score, ranking or product list is copied from any lab.

Existing electric and hybrid cars tests: what each measures, how it tests, how fresh it is, how it is funded and what it does not cover
LabMeasuresHow it testsFreshnessFunding, as it disclosesDoes not cover
  • Track and road performance: acceleration, braking, emergency handling, fuel economy loops and ride comfort. For electric cars, a range score from its own highway test.source, read
  • Predicted reliability and owner satisfaction from its annual survey of members.source, read
  • Instruments. Range test: constant highway speed on a public-road loop in dry summer weather until the car stops under its own power. The score starts from the official combined rating and is updated with its results.source, read
  • Sample. Survey received responses on about 380,000 vehicles in 2025, covering model years 2000 through 2025. A typical model year has 200 to 300 samples per model.source, read
  • Who buys the units. States it purchases every vehicle it tests from a dealership and does not test cars lent by manufacturers.source, read
  • Predicted reliability for current models averages the last three model years where data allows. Scores are not comparable across model years.source, read
  • Describes itself as an independent, nonprofit member organization, with donation and membership options shown.source, read
  • Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • States it does not perform crash tests and cites government and IIHS crash-test results instead.source, read
  • Only members are surveyed and take part voluntarily; it says members tend to be more educated and affluent than the general population, so the sample may not be fully representative.source, read
  • Recalls are not factored into reliability scores.source, read
  • Car safety across all vehicle segments, including active safety such as autonomous emergency braking and lane keeping, plus protection of pedestrians and cyclists.source, read
  • New cars available in the European market.source, read
  • Instruments. Testing runs through a network of test facilities, 11 in Europe and others in China and Australia. Step-by-step procedures are not described on the page read.source, read
  • Sample. Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Who buys the units. Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Describes its testing as constantly evolving and updated for emerging technologies and new crash scenarios; no update schedule is given.source, read
  • States it is not a government agency and not part of the automotive industry. It is supported by a consortium of European governments, motoring clubs, consumer organisations and insurance bodies.source, read
  • Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Says safety ratings from other NCAP programmes cannot be applied to models sold in Europe, because protocols and calculation methods differ.source, read
  • Sustainability ratings with three sub-scores: Clean Air, Energy Efficiency and Greenhouse Gases. Test areas include laboratory tests, road tests and non-exhaust emissions.source, read
  • A life cycle assessment estimates greenhouse gas emissions and primary energy demand across a vehicle's life stages; a Driving Experience assessment for electric cars was introduced in 2025.source, read
  • Instruments. Procedure steps are listed as section names only on the pages read; details sit on separate pages not read.source, read
  • Sample. Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Who buys the units. Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Tests run at independent European laboratories not owned by vehicle manufacturers, belonging to motoring clubs, consumer programmes, type approval authorities or universities. It says none of its consortium members are affiliated with the car industry.source, read
  • Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • For one electric model's life cycle assessment, the page states the manufacturer shared verified manufacturing data.source, read
  • Models are chosen to cover brands from several countries and common powertrains, with the aim of assessing as many cars as possible, not every model on sale.source, read
  • Crash performance: frontal and side crash tests, head restraint and roof strength evaluations, front crash prevention including pedestrian tests, and headlight performance.source, read
  • Instruments. Crash tests and other evaluations are performed at its Vehicle Research Center in Ruckersville, Virginia. Test protocols are linked as separate documents.source, read
  • Sample. Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Who buys the units. Buys most test vehicles from dealers like an ordinary consumer. A manufacturer asking for an off-schedule test reimburses the vehicle. Manufacturer-run test data is accepted in many cases, with occasional audit tests.source, read
  • Each year checks whether changes to a rated model could affect crash performance. If none are found, the previous rating carries over; major changes need fresh tests.source, read
  • Independent, nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization. States it is wholly supported by auto insurers and insurance associations.source, read
  • Plug-in hybrid variants may sometimes inherit the rating of a rated petrol model; fully electric variants must be tested separately.source, read
  • The page read does not list non-crash topics such as range or running cost.source, read
  • Real range of electric cars versus the range declared by manufacturers, calculated from usable battery capacity and official consumption.source, read
  • Instruments. Divides usable battery capacity by the average official consumption from the WLTP cycle. The page does not detail how its own measurements were made.source, read
  • Sample. Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Who buys the units. Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • The study read is a 2025 press note; no update cycle is stated.source, read
  • States its independence rests on its active members. Says it works with a professional team, other European consumer associations and an international network of independent laboratories.source, read
  • Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • The page does not list which models or versions were analysed, which laboratories took part, or the exact conditions of its own measurements.source, read
  • Official fuel economy figures for new vehicles, from laboratory testing on a dynamometer using standardized driving cycles that simulate typical city and highway trips.source, read
  • Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Instruments. Drive wheels sit on a dynamometer with roller load set for wind resistance and weight. For carbon-based fuels, tailpipe exhaust is collected and its carbon measured to calculate fuel burned.source, read
  • Sample. Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Who buys the units. Manufacturers test their own vehicles, usually pre-production prototypes, and report results to EPA. EPA reviews them and confirms a share through its own tests at its National Vehicles and Fuel Emissions Laboratory.source, read
  • Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • The site is administered by Oak Ridge National Laboratory for the US Department of Energy and the US Environmental Protection Agency.source, read
  • The page read does not explain how electric range labels are derived and points to a separate page for real-world driving differences.source, read

Which test to use for which decision

What this page does not do

Back to the category map