Which running shoe tests can you trust?

To judge which running shoe tests you can trust, check what is measured, how the units are bought and how the lab is funded. The labs below state different answers to each of these, and the pages read here describe instrument tests and runner wear tests mostly as separate methods. Reading one lab from each kind gives a fuller picture than relying on one.

Inadviser has run no test in this category and names no best product. This page lists existing tests and what each says about itself. Each fact was read on the lab's own page; the link and the date read are beside it. Last page read: .

Existing tests compared

Labs are listed in alphabetical order. The order says nothing about quality. 7 parts below say "Not stated" because the lab's page did not say it. No score, ranking or product list is copied from any lab.

Existing running shoes tests: what each measures, how it tests, how fresh it is, how it is funded and what it does not cover
LabMeasuresHow it testsFreshnessFunding, as it disclosesDoes not cover
  • Reviews are runner opinions after wearing the shoe; the page calls the final thoughts subjective.source, read
  • Instruments. Mentions no lab or instrument measurements; testing is miles run in the shoe.source, read
  • Sample. States each review needs at least 20 miles in a pair. Number of testers is not stated; the page says the core team has worked together for 6+ years.source, read
  • Who buys the units. Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • States that its shop links often, but not always, go to affiliate partners and that it receives a small commission when a reader buys.source, read
  • States it has never received money in exchange for a product review.source, read
  • Offers advertising, events and collaborations to brands and sells its own apparel; funding as a whole is not disclosed.source, read
  • No instrument data such as cushioning or stiffness is described on the method page.source, read
  • Does not state whether review shoes are bought or sent by brands.source, read
  • Reviews describe how a shoe performs across run types by Doctors of Physical Therapy; no lab measurements are described.source, read
  • Instruments. Each shoe type gets set runs before review. Trainers get daily runs, workouts, recovery runs and a long run, often 20 to 50 miles in total; racing flats get intervals and a tempo run.source, read
  • Sample. Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Who buys the units. Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • States it is looking to partner with companies to promote footwear models, and that partnership will not affect the honesty of its reviews.source, read
  • The about page lists a team including licensed physical therapists and does not state how the site is funded.source, read
  • No lab equipment is described on the method page.source, read
  • Source of review shoes and number of testers are not stated; the page text was read only in part.source, read
  • Rates comfort and fit, cushioning, breathability and traction for men's running shoes.source, read
  • Measures stack height, heel-to-toe drop, dimensions and toebox volume at a test facility.source, read
  • Instruments. Testers run threshold workouts, long, recovery and treadmill runs, hill sprints and strides on varied surfaces; shoes are cut in half to measure stack height against World Athletics standards.source, read
  • Sample. Sends a second pair of each shoe to a test facility. Number of testers is not stated; the page names two authors.source, read
  • Who buys the units. States that it buys all the products it reviews and refuses manufacturers' free evaluation units.source, read
  • Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • States that it is entirely reader-supported and only makes money when readers click its affiliate links and buy products it has reviewed.source, read
  • States that it does not accept endorsements for money. Names a founder and CEO; does not state who owns the company.source, read
  • The method page covers men's running shoes only.source, read
  • Tests are described for one location and one team; the page does not describe a durability programme.source, read
  • Wear testers report on fit, comfort and ride. The Shoe Lab measures cushioning, forefoot flexibility, weight, stack height and drop.source, read
  • Instruments. An impact tester drops an 8.5 kg disk on heel and forefoot from 5 cm; a machine bends the forefoot 45 degrees 60 times in 20 seconds. The lab is directed by Martyn R. Shorten, Ph.D.source, read
  • Sample. Sends shoes to more than 400 runners in four cities, each wearing them for about one month; the page cites about 50 pairs of each of 30 models per guide.source, read
  • Who buys the units. States that manufacturers provide the shoes. Does not say whether they are bought or given free.source, read
  • The page read is dated June 8, 2016, so the numbers are from that date; a current method page was not read.source, read
  • The page carries a Sponsored label above its title; it does not say what the label applies to. No affiliate disclosure appears on it.source, read
  • Not statedLooked at: source, read
  • The page describes a Shoe Guide programme as it stood in 2016; a current programme is not described there.source, read
  • Traction, breathability and durability measurements are not described on the page.source, read
  • Measures energy return and shock absorption with a drop test on a cut midsole, plus stack height, heel drop, midsole softness, traction, stiffness and torsional rigidity.source, read
  • Also measures breathability, insulation, shoe and toebox dimensions, weight, and durability by abrasion; team members wear-test shoes in category-appropriate settings.source, read
  • Instruments. Uses lab machines and hand tools: a drop-test rig, a durometer, a friction machine, a bending machine, an environmental chamber, calipers and a microscope. Each drop test runs 30 repetitions per location.source, read
  • Sample. Tests one pair per shoe: one shoe kept whole, the other cut apart for midsole and upper tests. Number of wear testers is not stated on the page.source, read
  • Who buys the units. States that it buys the shoes, in one men's size, and waits for that size if needed. Does not say whether brands ever supply shoes.source, read
  • Keeps a dated methodology version list; the newest entry is version 2.5 for breathability, June 2026. Version 2.2 notes about 200 running shoes were re-measured after a softness method change.source, read
  • Does not describe a schedule for re-testing existing reviews.source, read
  • States that it earns an affiliate commission when readers buy through its links, earns from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate, and runs ads.source, read
  • Lists prototype testing services and data licensing for outside parties in its site footer; the page does not describe their terms.source, read
  • Names a founder and CEO. Does not state who owns the company.source, read
  • Tests the original model only; collaborations and variations are not tested.source, read
  • Cold conditions are simulated with a freezer test that covers softness only. Stack height is measured only on cut shoes.source, read
  • Durability is a bench abrasion test, not a long-run wear programme.source, read

Which test to use for which decision

What this page does not do

Back to the category map